Federal Open Market Committee

About the FOMC

FOMC Search

Search all FOMC materials



FOMC Document Filter

Advanced Search



FOMC calendar

- FOMC Longer-Run Goals and Monetary Policy Strategy (PDF)
- Addendum to FOMC Policy Normalization Principles and Plans
- Recent Statement | Recent Minutes
- FOMC Calendar

Recent FOMC press conference March 22, 2023



Press Conference Materials Opening Statement Transcript (PDF)

FOMC Transcripts and other historical materials

2017 FOMC Historical Documents



FAQs

Related Content

Guide to the Summary of Economic Projections

The term "monetary policy" refers to the actions undertaken by a central bank, such as the Federal Reserve, to influence the availability and cost of money and credit to help promote national economic goals. The Federal Reserve Act of 1913 gave the Federal Reserve responsibility for setting monetary policy.

The Federal Reserve controls the three tools of monetary policy--open market operations, the discount rate, and reserve requirements. The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System is responsible for the discount rate and reserve requirements, and the Federal Open Market Committee is responsible for open market operations. Using the three tools, the Federal

Reserve influences the demand for, and supply of, balances that depository institutions hold at Federal Reserve Banks and in this way alters the federal funds rate. The federal funds rate is the interest rate at which depository institutions lend balances at the Federal Reserve to other depository institutions overnight.

Changes in the federal funds rate trigger a chain of events that affect other short-term interest rates, foreign exchange rates, long-term interest rates, the amount of money and credit, and, ultimately, a range of economic variables, including employment, output, and prices of goods and services.

Structure of the FOMC

The Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) consists of twelve members—the seven members of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System; the president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York; and four of the remaining eleven Reserve Bank presidents, who serve one-year terms on a rotating basis. The rotating seats are filled from the following four groups of Banks, one Bank president from each group: Boston, Philadelphia, and Richmond; Cleveland and Chicago; Atlanta, St. Louis, and Dallas; and Minneapolis, Kansas City, and San Francisco. Nonvoting Reserve Bank presidents attend the meetings of the Committee, participate in the discussions, and contribute to the Committee's assessment of the economy and policy options.

The FOMC holds eight regularly scheduled meetings per year. At these meetings, the Committee reviews economic and financial conditions, determines the appropriate stance of monetary policy, and assesses the risks to its long-run goals of price stability and sustainable economic growth.

For more detail on the FOMC and monetary policy, see section 2 of the brochure on the structure of the Federal Reserve System and chapter 2 of Purposes & Functions of the Federal Reserve System. FOMC Rules and Authorizations are also available online.

2023 Committee Members

- · Jerome H. Powell, Board of Governors, Chair
- · John C. Williams, New York, Vice Chair
- Michael S. Barr, Board of Governors
- · Michelle W. Bowman, Board of Governors
- · Lisa D. Cook, Board of Governors
- Austan D. Goolsbee, Chicago
- Patrick Harker, Philadelphia
- Philip N. Jefferson, Board of Governors
- · Neel Kashkari, Minneapolis
- Lorie K. Logan, Dallas
- · Christopher J. Waller, Board of Governors

Alternate Members

Thomas I. Barkin, Richmond

- Raphael W. Bostic, Atlanta
- Mary C. Daly, San Francisco
- Loretta J. Mester, Cleveland
- Sushmita Shukla, First Vice President, New York

Federal Reserve Bank Rotation on the FOMC

Committee membership changes at the first regularly scheduled meeting of the year.

	2024	2025	2026
	New York	New York	New York
Members	Cleveland	Chicago	Cleveland
	Richmond	Boston	Philadelphia
	Atlanta	St. Louis	Dallas
	San Francisco	Kansas City	Minneapolis
Alternate Members	New York [†]	New York [†]	New York [†]
	Chicago	Cleveland	Chicago
	Boston	Philadelphia	Richmond
	St. Louis	Dallas	Atlanta
	Kansas City	Minneapolis	San Francisco

†For the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, the First Vice President is the alternate for the President. Return to table

For additional information, please use the FOMC FOIA request form.

Last Update: March 22, 2023